The Great Adventure, Part 1

Let me start off by saying, I have no idea how many parts this blog title will have.  I just know this isn’t the only one.  I am currently writing this from a hotel room, waiting for 3PM to roll around, so I can go get the keys to my new corporate apartment.  The last couple of months have been crazy, especially the last month or so.

It all started at the beginning of February, when on a Sunday afternoon, I was idling surfing online out of boredom.  I didn’t know what to play, didn’t have anything I wanted to watch, so I was just surfing.  I pulled up the latest updates from Twitter, and say Major Nelson had tweeted a link to Microsoft job postings for the Hololens project.  Out of pure curiosity for what kind of positions they were hiring for it, I perused the listings.  I wasn’t looking for a new job, just mildly curious.  After a few pages, I thought to myself, “Hey, I wonder what kinds of postings they have for Xbox stuff…” and changed the search criteria.  A few pages in, I found it… a job posting for my dream job.

I read the posting several times over, thought about it, and then went upstairs to tell my wife.  It went something like this: “So… I was just surfing online, and found what I think is my dream job.  Do you mind if I apply, just to see what happens?  And if something comes of it, would you be ok with moving?”  “Sure, whatever!” she replied.  So I went back downstairs, pulled up my resume, making sure it was up to date, and submitted it.  “Well, we’ll see if anything comes of this,” I thought to myself, fully expecting to not hear anything for at least 2 weeks.

The next day, I had an email back from a recruiter, wanting to schedule a phone screening.  That’s the fastest I’ve ever heard back from an online, unsolicited application, period.  We scheduled a time, had the phone call, and scheduled the follow up with the hiring manager.  I’ve done technical phone screens before (from both the interviewer and the interviewee point of view), so I wasn’t terribly nervous.  We ended up going past the scheduled hour time slot and ended up talking for 90 minutes.  When we got off the phone, I couldn’t help but feel it had gone extremely well, feeling like I connected with the manager immediately, like we had been working together for years.  I wondered how he had felt it had gone, and resigned myself to needing to wait a few days to find out, so I fired up a game.  After playing for a few hours, I checked my email to see if I had any other emails, and saw one from the recruiter, 40 minutes after my phone call had ended, saying they wanted to fly me in for on site interviews.  “Wow, I have *never* seen a response that fast, even when I was a hiring manager and liked someone.” I thought.

Fast forward a few weeks, and after on site interviews and receiving an offer, I accepted the position.  We met with 2 realtors to find someone to help sell our home and settled on one we liked on a Saturday.  We had planned to list 11 days later, on a Wednesday, giving us enough time of working all weekend long and every evening to get things into a show ready condition.  3 days into it, my wife gets a call from our realtor.  A colleague of hers had someone in town looking for a house, who still hadn’t found anything and was leaving in a few days.  She had driven past our house and liked it, asking if she could see it before leaving.  We agreed, so long as she understood we still had boxes out from packing stuff up, which she agreed and understood.  Over the next 2 days, the buyer came through twice, and ended up making an offer on the home.  We were amazed, 1 week prior to listing, and we had not just any offer, a great offer.  By Friday, we were under contract.

My last 3 weeks at my old job flew by, and before I knew it, it was time for me to pack up my car and head out to Seattle.  I loaded everything up for the 30 hour trip on Monday, and started driving Tuesday.  I was getting over a cold for the last week, so I was expecting it to take through today to get here.  However, I started feeling a lot better on Tuesday, and ended up making it to Rapid City, SD, that evening, my stretch goal.  The drive on Tuesday was fairly uneventful, and flew by, in thanks to the audio book “The Martian” by Andy Weir (I’ll do a separate post about this).

Wednesday’s drive was also fairly uneventful, although slightly more boring.  I left Rapid City and my stretch goal for the day was Missoula, MT.  I made it (a bit later than I wanted to), but still, an uneventful drive.  The sheer number of bugs that decided to lunge into my windshield in Wyoming and Montana, however, was astounding.  Every couple hundred of miles or so, I was stopping to wash them off so I could see.  My car will need a car wash soon… desperately.  I finished the audio book “The Martian” on Wednesday, and started up “Redshirts” by John Scalzi.

Thursday’s drive was more of the same, albeit shorter.  I ended up making it to the Seattle area by 1:30PM local time, checked into my hotel, and just relaxed.  I did get texts from our realtor while still on the road that the appraisal on our home came back at full asking, with no repairs required, so now all we have to do on our current home is close!  This is awesome, and I’m very excited.

I think that will wrap up this blog post for now.  I’ve written a lot, still have more to write, but it can wait for later.

Cecil

By Cecil

Leave a Reply

